Skip to main content

Dr. Kendra Cabrera-Online Classes-Library/Research Assignment: Articles

This guide is to help with the library assignment and research requirements for Dr. Cabrera's online Ethnic Studies 10 class

Academic Search Complete Research Database

This is the link to the database that you want to use for Dr. Cabrera's library assignment. This is the best database to find academic articles that deal with your topic and the one you need to use for your assignment.

IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO ENTER YOUR LOBOAPPS/MPC EMAIL USERNAME AND PASSWORD LOGIN INFORMATION TO ACCESS THE LIBRARY DATABASES, WHICH ARE LIMITED TO STUDENTS, STAFF AND FACULTY AT MPC.

 

Other Recommended Research Databases

Below are some other databases that you might find helpful in your research for your final paper for the class. These databases cover newspaper resources as well as resources that specifically cover social and controversial topics. You can use the links below to search for articles in magazines, newspapers and journals about your topic.

 

 

Boolean Operators/Combination Searching

Boolean operators help you with searching in our databases (in this case Academic Search Complete). I have 3 of them below with examples. Remember to keep your search terms simple to just the keywords that relate to the subject of your research and you should be able to easily find good articles for your assignment.

Quotation Marks: To search multiple worded search terms together.
       "Monterey Peninsula College" 
       "African American" 
       "Harlem Renaissance"

AND: To tell the database that these search terms must appear in your results and to help you narrow your search.
       Jazz AND culture
       "Black Panthers" AND empowerment 
       "American Indian" AND protest

OR: When you want to search for either term and help expand your search.
       "Miles Davis" OR "John Coltrane" 
       Rap OR "Hip Hop"
       ("Native American" OR Indian) AND treaties
        

Video Tutorial for Academic Search Complete

This video tutorial shows you how to search for articles in the Academic Search Complete database. You can access Academic Search Complete directly via the link on the left (instead of going to the library homepage to access it like what is shown at the beginning of this tutorial). If you have any questions or run into any problems please feel free to email me.

Academic Search Complete Handout

This is the print handout of how to use Academic Search Premier and how to access it from our MPC Library homepage.