Skip to main content

English 2 - Prof. Bachman: Articles

Research Databases/Article Search Engines

You can use the links below to search for articles in magazines, newspapers and journals about your topic.

IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO ENTER YOUR LOBOAPPS/MPC EMAIL USERNAME AND PASSWORD LOGIN INFORMATION TO ACCESS THE LIBRARY DATABASES, WHICH ARE LIMITED TO STUDENTS, STAFF AND FACULTY AT MPC.

 

Boolean Operators/Combination Searching

Boolean operators help you with searching in our database. I have 3 of them below with examples. Remember to keep your search terms simple to just the keywords that relate to the subject of your research and you should be able to find good articles for your assignment.

Quotation Marks: To search multiple worded search terms together.
       "Monterey Peninsula College" 
       "Camera Lucida" 
       "Male Gaze"

AND: To tell the database that these search terms must appear in your results and to help you narrow your search.
       Barthes AND "Camera Lucida"
       "Laura Mulvey" AND "Male Gaze"
       "John Berger" AND art

OR: When you want to search for either term and help expand your search.
       ("J.M.W. Turner" OR "John Martin") and "landscape painting"
       "Feminist Theory" OR Feminism
       "Male Gaze" AND (voyeurism OR scopophilia)
        

Accessing Library Research Databases

Video Tutorial for Academic Search Complete

This video tutorial shows you how to search for articles in the Academic Search Complete database. You can access Academic Search Complete directly via the link on the left (instead of going to the library homepage to access it like what is shown at the beginning of this tutorial). We covered this in the class but if you have any questions or run into any problems please feel free to email me.

Academic Search Complete Handout

This is a handout of how to use Academic Search Complete and how to access it from our MPC Library homepage. You can also use the link to the database to the left on this page. We covered this in class and it supplements the video above, just another tool to help you in using this database if needed.