Skip to main content

English 1B - Prof. Van Dam: Articles

Research Databases/Article Search Engines

You can use the databases linked below to search for articles on literature in magazines, newspapers and journals about your topic. They also include plot summaries, character analysis and other helpful resources for literature research.

IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO ENTER YOUR LOBOAPPS/MPC EMAIL USERNAME AND PASSWORD LOGIN INFORMATION TO ACCESS THE LIBRARY DATABASES, WHICH ARE LIMITED TO STUDENTS, STAFF AND FACULTY AT MPC.

 

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators help you with searching in our database. This is how we customize our searches. I have 3 of them listed below with examples. Remember to keep your search terms simple to just the keywords that relate to the subject of your research and you should be able to find good articles for your English 1B assignments.

Quotation Marks: To search multiple worded search terms together.
       "Monterey Peninsula College" 
       "literary fiction" 
       "frame tale"

AND: To tell the database that these search terms must appear in your results and to help you narrow your search.
       Shelley AND romanticism
       "Raymond Carver" AND symbolism
       "Call of the Wild" AND London

OR: When you want to search for either term and help expand your search.
       (Hemingway OR Fitzgerald) and "lost generation"
       "Science Fiction" OR Fantasy
       poetry AND (Neruda or Lorca)

Literature Databases Research

This video tutorial shows you how to search the two literary databases from the MPC Library:  Literary Reference Center Plus and Poetry & Short Story Reference Center.

Video Tutorial for Academic Search Complete

This video tutorial shows you how to search for articles in the Academic Search Complete database. You can access Academic Search Complete directly via the link on the left (instead of going to the library homepage to access it like what is shown at the beginning of this tutorial). The searching concepts in this video also apply to the other databases listed.