Research Guides: Speech 1 (Cardinale): How do I find articles?

Navigation

Try these library databases!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current controversial topics, and includes full-text articles, statistics, viewpoint essays (pro and con), etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles on current major and controversial topics. Includes pro-con arguments, background, and more.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Up to date full-text of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune
Statista This link opens in a new window
Direct access to qualitative and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and current events. Information from government and other resources.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Not a library database. This is a great government website for your career speeches.

Videos to Get You Started!

Click the tabs below to locate the two videos that will get you started searching using the library databases. Also included, key features you should know about while using the databases.

You Tube Video Icon You can also view this video through YouTube.com. A new tab will pop open.

Library databases will...

Image of a check mark ...provide you more search terms to try.
After pressing "Search", find more search terms under "Subject".

Image of a check mark ...limit your results to just scholarly/peer-reviewed.
Click the checkbox before you press "Search".

Image of a check mark ...generate citations in APA format.
Click an article title and then find the "Cite" button. Always double check for accuracy.

Image of a check mark ...download, email, print, & save your full-text article.
Discover which one works best to get you organized.

Explore the databases to find these features and more. Happy searching!