Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Classes-Prof. Gilbert: Articles

Research Databases/Article Search Engines

You can use the databases linked below to search for articles on literature in magazines, newspapers and journals about your topic. They also include plot summaries, character analysis and other helpful resources for literature research.

IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO ENTER YOUR LOBOAPPS/MPC EMAIL USERNAME AND PASSWORD LOGIN INFORMATION TO ACCESS THE LIBRARY DATABASES, WHICH ARE LIMITED TO STUDENTS, STAFF AND FACULTY AT MPC.

 

Literature Databases Research

This video tutorial shows you how to search the two literary databases from the MPC Library:  Literary Reference Center Plus and Poetry & Short Story Reference Center.

Video Tutorial for Academic Search Complete

This video tutorial shows you how to search for articles in the Academic Search Complete database. You can access Academic Search Complete directly via the link on the left (instead of going to the library homepage to access it like what is shown at the beginning of this tutorial). The searching concepts in this video also apply to the other databases listed.

Academic Search Complete Handout

This is a handout of how to use Academic Search Complete and how to access it from our MPC Library homepage. You can also use the link to the database to the left on this page. We covered this in class and it supplements the video above, just another tool to help you in using this database if needed.