Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science - Fall 2020: Prof. Blanchard: Articles

Research Databases

You can use the links below to search for articles in magazines, newspapers and journals about your topic.

For academic/scholarly articles, use the Academic Search Complete, Political Science Complete, and JSTOR databases for accessing academic/scholarly journals.

IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO ENTER YOUR LOBOAPPS/MPC EMAIL USERNAME AND PASSWORD LOGIN INFORMATION TO ACCESS THE LIBRARY DATABASES, WHICH ARE LIMITED TO STUDENTS, STAFF AND FACULTY AT MPC.

 

Academic Search Complete Video Tutorial

This video tutorial shows you how to search for articles in the Academic Search Complete database. You can access Academic Search Complete directly via the link on the left (instead of going to the library homepage to access it like what is shown at the beginning of this tutorial). We covered this in the class but if you have any questions or run into any problems please feel free to email me.

US Major Dailies Tutorial Video

This is a video tutorial that will help you with the basics to navigate and search the US Major Dailies database. This particular video is from another school so ingnore the information at the very end. 

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial Video

How to use the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database from the MPC Library

Boolean Operators/Combination Searching

Boolean operators help you with searching in our database. I have 3 of them below with examples. Remember to keep your search terms simple to just the keywords that relate to the subject of your research and you should be able to find good articles for your assignment.

Quotation Marks: To search multiple worded search terms together.
       "Monterey Peninsula College" 
       "executive privilege" 
       "international relations"

AND: To tell the database that these search terms must appear in your results and to help you narrow your search.
       Trump AND "executive privilege"
       communism AND China
       "domino theory" AND Vietnam

OR: When you want to search for either term and help expand your search.
       (Johnson OR Nixon) and "civil rights"
       "municipal government" OR "city government"
       Portland AND (Antifa OR "Proud Boys")

        

Accessing Databases from MPC Library Homepage

This is a short 2 minute video that shows you how to access the databases from the MPC Library Homepage. You do not have to do this as there are direct links to the recommended databases to the left but if you want to explore more databases,this will take you to our master list of databases available from the MPC Library.

Statista Tutorial Video

This is a basic tutorial on how to use the Statista statistical database. It is from another college so ignore the contact information at the very end.