New Faculty: Welcome to the Library

Meet the Librarians!

Top 10 Reasons Instructors Use the Library

1. Synchronous & asynchronous library instruction available.
   A customized session taught by a librarian to meet your in-person or online classes’ needs. Email weaston@mpc.edu to request a session. 
2. Place textbooks & course material on Reserves & e-Reserves.
   Email kehaskin@mpc.edu to place physical copies on reserves. Request electronic copies at forms.gle/neuqL7Euu5xxsoHB9.
3. Browse your discipline's online collection.
   The collection supports all MPC classes.  Use the search tool OneSearch to find books, articles, and other items in the collection.
4. Request physical books through OneSearch.
   An email is sent when it’s ready. Borrow it from the pick-up location. Watch the video on how to request items!
5. Use Our Popular Databases!
   The library subscribes to Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, newspaper databases, Films on Demand, & Kanopy video streaming.
6. Link library resources easily for your students.
   Find the Permalink button in OneSearch to generate hyperlinks for your Canvas course. More details found on this guide.
7. Attain books and articles from other libraries.
   Can't find the book or article you need at MPC? Contact any of the librarians to request an item from another library. 
8. Strengthen student research skills.
   Direct students to meet with a librarian by chat, email or video. More info at libguides.mpc.edu/libraryhelp.
9. Cite information accurately.
   Handouts available in MLA & APA format at libguides.mpc.edu/citations. Contact a librarian to request an orientation including citation instruction.
10. View the library's unique collections.
    Library houses unique campus history and student newspapers, interior design archives, and original photography. These collections are on display online and in digital formats.

Get started at www.mpc.edu/library!  Find us on    .