Research Guides: Highlights from MPC's Archives & Special Collections: Frances Adler Elkins

Francis Adler Elkins Collection

(Click images to enlarge.)

Processing of The Frances Adler Elkins Collection, including records kept by her assistant Nelle Currie (1904-1986) is now underway. The Monterey Peninsula College Library Archives & Special Collections Department extends their appreciation to the Monterey Peninsula College Foundation and the Thomas Doud, Sr. and Anita M. Doud Fund of the Community Foundation for Monterey County for their generous support of this special project.

Photo of Elkins at her desk. — Photograph from the *New York Times*

Frances Adler Elkins was one of the most celebrated and influential American interior designers of the early-to-mid twentieth century. She made her home in the historic Monterey adobe Casa Amesti and conducted her design business from other locations in Monterey. Her first commissions were for residential designs for friends and social acquaintances, but she later obtained important commercial work including hotels and retail stores. Elkins was known for her innovative style that drew from elements of both traditional and contemporary design. Her work, especially in California, was groundbreaking and continues to influence designers of today.

Photo of a room Elkins designed — Photograph from *Architectural Digest*

Elkins was the sister of noted Chicago architect, David Adler (1882-1949). They worked together on over a dozen large homes in California, Illinois, New York and elsewhere.

In 1930 Elkins was commissioned by Del Monte Properties to do some renovations at the Hotel Del Monte in Monterey.

Image of 1930 Hotel Del Monte letter to Elkins about a sun parlor — Click on image above to enlarge.

Image of Elkins sketches for Del Monte Properties — Click on image above to enlarge.

The famous Royal Hawaiian on Waikiki beach hired Elkins to refurbish the hotel following World War II

Image of Elkin's plans for Royal Hawaiian Hotel. — Click on image above to enlarge.

In 1931 Elkins worked with her brother on the Nassau County, New York, home of Mrs. Evelyn Marshall Field. Below is a detail from one of the blueprints in the collection showing the dining room mirror.

Photo of Royal Hawaiian Hotel lobby — Click on image above to enlarge.

Image of blue prints for Field's home — Click on image above to enlarge.

All images, except as otherwise noted, are from The Frances Adler Elkins Collection.