Library Resources - History 12 - Crowley - Research Guides at Monterey Peninsula College

Intro

OneSearch searches across most of the MPC Library's content, use it to find articles, books, videos, etc. If you find a physical book, request it and then come into the library to pick it up!
Databases have full-text electronic content (articles, books, etc.) that you can access right away

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for help from a librarian!

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
America: History & Life with Full Text

History and culture of the United States and Canada. Includes academic journal and magazine articles.
American History

Collection of primary documents, reference sources, and articles on United States history.
JSTOR
Collection of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

American History

Collection of primary documents, reference sources, and articles on United States history.

More Search Terms = Fewer Results: Start with a simple search, and add search terms to focus your results.

Search with just the important words (keywords), don’t use sentences:
- Example: women's suffrage AND temperance movement; instead of ‘how did the women's suffrage movement relate to the temperance movement?’

Quotation Marks - Use quotation marks to tell the search engine to keep the words together:
- Example: “An appeal to the Christian Women of the South” “Allegory of America”

Too many search results? Combine keywords using the word AND to narrow your results to more specific aspects of your topic:
- Example: gender AND legal rights AND marriage; women of color AND social class AND activism

Not enough search results? Combine similar keywords using the word OR to broaden your search results:
- Example: women OR gender; (slavery OR plantation) AND role of women