Research Guides: News & Newspapers: Databases & Print Periodicals

Online Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Chicago Tribune 1985- present including online content. Browse print edition by date
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full Text of the LA Times 1985 - present including online content. Browse print edition by date
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Contains full text for nearly 300 journals and magazines.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from 700 newspapers including Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, The Times (UK), Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), and more. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-Text of the NYT from 1980 - present including online content. Browse print edition by date
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, Business, & Legal Research. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, SEC filings, business analysis, and reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current controversial topics, and includes full-text articles, statistics, viewpoint essays (pro and con), etc.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for regional business publications covering all areas within the United States, including California.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Up to date full-text of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full Text of the WSJ 1984 - present including online content. Browse print edition by date
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full Text of the Washington Post 1987 - present including online content. Browse print edition by date

Primary & Secondary Resources

Primary & Secondary Resources

The above link will help you differentiate between primary and secondary resources. You should strive to reference primary resources when making your own inferences on a subject. Secondary sources can be used to compare or contrast your findings.

Periodicals in Print

THE CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION
PAPER: CURRENT YEAR + MOST RECENT PAST YEAR
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

MONTEREY COUNTY HERALD (Formerly THE HERALD)
PAPER: 4 WEEKS + CURRENT WEEK
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

MONTEREY COUNTY WEEKLY(Formerly COAST WEEKLY)
PAPER: 4 WEEKS + CURRENT ISSUE
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

THE NEW YORK TIMES
PAPER: 3 MONTHS + CURRENT ISSUE
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

SALINAS CALIFORNIAN
PAPER: 4 WEEKS + CURRENT WEEK
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE
PAPER: 4 WEEKS + CURRENT WEEK
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

SAN FRANCISCO EXAMINER (SUNDAY EDITION)
PAPER: 4 SUNDAYS + MOST CURRENT SUNDAY

SAN JOSE MERCURY NEWS
PAPER: 4 WEEKS + CURRENT WEEK
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

WALL STREET JOURNAL-WESTERN EDITION
PAPER: 3 MONTHS + CURRENT MONTH
CURRENT ISSUE ON NEWSPAPER RACK

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Publications

Not all periodical publications are created equal. Scholarly publications are peer-reviewed and should be your first choice for accurate and in-depth information. The above link will help you select appropriate periodical sources.