Research Guides: Open Access for Chemistry &amp; Geology: List of Resources

"Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results—to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives." (SPARC)

"Open Education encompasses resources, tools and practices that are free of legal, financial and technical barriers and can be fully used, shared and adapted in the digital environment. Open Education maximizes the power of the Internet to make education more affordable, accessible and effective." (SPARC)

Open Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica
Free version of Encyclopedia Britannica
Science & Technology Biographies (encyclopedia.com)
Browse a list of biographies. If you don't find your scientist, use the search box at the top. Warning, there are ads, scroll past them.

Open Textbooks

BookBoon
BookBoon offers more than 25 chemistry titles. These books are available for free as downloadable PDFs, but they do include some advertising.
LibreTexts Library (Chemistry)
LibreTexts Library holds Chemistry texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team.
LibreTexts Library (Geology)
LibreTexts Library also holds Geology texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team.
Natural Academies Press - Earth Sciences
Ecosystems, Conservation, Ocean Studies, GIS, Hydrology - you can download free digital textbooks on all this and more from the Earth Science section of National Academies Press. Price listed is for delivery of paperback copies.

MPC's OneSearch

MPC's OneSearch
In addition to the library's collection of books and articles, MPC Onesearch contains some Open Access articles. An Open Access icon can be found within the article's record

Classroom, Lab & the Field

IRIS Lessons & Coursework
An animated, video, html, lesson about plate tectonics that includes Wegner's hypothesis, the Theory, the driving forces, the three plate boundaries, convection currents, hot spots, and plate tectonic reconstruction.
KQED Geology Resources
Blogs, images and videos highlighting local geological news, history and places of interest. Constantly updated.
Mineralogy Database
The Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library. Tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, and Strunz classification available.
MIT OpenCourse Ware - Chemistry
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses in Chemistry. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
MIT Open Courseware - Geology
MIT's Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences department offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
Virtual Chemistry Lab
Highly reviewed by MERLOT peers - "Here's your chance to mix chemicals without wearing safety goggles. You won't spill any acid on the spectrometer in this lab. Choose solutions from the vast database and mix 'em together till the cloned cows come home. Marvel as the chemical solutions react in real time.

Videos

Khan Academy
Instructional videos in many science disciplines including Chemistry and Geology. Search or Browse the categories.
TedEd
TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. Search for both Chemistry and Geology related videos.
YouTube EDU - Geology

Search Engines

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
A search engines for academic web resources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
CORE
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.

Open Journals

Chemistry Central Journal
Peer-reviewed open-access articles in all areas of chemistry.
ChemistryOpen
Multidisciplinary, gold-road open-access, international forum for the publication of outstanding Reviews, Full Papers, and Communications from all areas of chemistry and related fields.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Geology, Ecology, and Landscapes
Peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes original research papers and state-of-the-art reviews of broad interest on the geology of the tropics and the related ecological changes that forms the base for new landscape formations in tropical regions.
GSA Today
Open Journal of Geology
An international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in geology. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of geology.