Research Guides: Why do civilizations collapse? (HIST 7): MPC Library Resources for Research on Collapse

OneSearch searches across most of the MPC Library's content, use it to find articles, books, videos, etc. If you find a physical book, request it and pick it up during our pick-up hours
Databases have full-text electronic content (articles, books, etc.) that you can access right away

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for help from a librarian!

Search the MPC Library's Content

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text history reference sources.
Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text ebooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Science is the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and reports on cutting-edge research.

More Search Terms = Fewer Results: Start with a simple search, and add search terms to focus your results.

Search with just the important words (keywords), don’t use sentences:
- Example: Old Kingdom AND drought; instead of ‘did the old kingdom fall because of drought?’

Quotation Marks - Use quotation marks to tell the computer to keep the words together:
- Example: “Old Kingdom” “classic Maya”

Too many search results? Combine keywords using the word AND to narrow your results to more specific aspects of your topic:
- Example: "Indus Valley" AND disease; Angkor AND collapse AND climate

Not enough search results? Combine similar keywords using the word OR to broaden your search results:
- Example: "Easter Island" OR "Rapa Nui"; (Angkor OR Khmer) AND collapse