Research Guides: Rise of the West (HIST 8): MPC Library Resources for Research

Intro

OneSearch searches across most of the MPC Library's content, use it to find articles, books, videos, etc. If you find a physical book, request it and then come into the library to pick it up!
Databases have full-text electronic content (articles, books, etc.) that you can access right away

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for help from a librarian!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text history reference sources.
Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text ebooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

More Search Terms = Fewer Results: Start with a simple search, and add search terms to focus your results.

Search with just the important words (keywords), don’t use sentences:
- Example: western dominance AND technology; instead of ‘did the west become dominant because of technological advancement?’

Quotation Marks - Use quotation marks to tell the search engine to keep the words together:
- Example: “scientific revolution” “western civilization”

Too many search results? Combine keywords using the word AND to narrow your results to more specific aspects of your topic:
- Example: “industrial revolution” AND transatlantic slave trade; europe AND middle ages AND technological advances

Not enough search results? Combine similar keywords using the word OR to broaden your search results:
- Example: capitalism OR colonialism; (slavery OR plantation) AND economic expansion