Research Guides: Government: California: Articles & Journals

On-line Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text ebooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full Text of the LA Times 1985 - present including online content. Browse print edition by date
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from 700 newspapers including Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, The Times (UK), Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), and more. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
General News, Business, Legal Research, Mathematics, Reference and Medicine; includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current controversial topics, and includes full-text articles, statistics, viewpoint essays (pro and con), etc.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Detailed U.S. statistics on demographics, health, economics, crime, education, and more.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Up to date full-text of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune

Primary & Secondary Sources

The following link will help you differentiate between primary and secondary resources. You should strive to reference primary resources when making your own inferences on a subject. Secondary sources can be used to compare or contrast your findings.

Primary & Secondary Resources (pdf)

Periodicals

CALIFORNIAN
paper: latest 4 weeks
MONTEREY COUNTY WEEKLY
paper: latest 4 weeks
MONTEREY COUNTY WEEKLY.COM
SACRAMENTO BEE
SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE
paper: latest 5 weeks
SAN FRANCISCO EXAMINER
SAN JOSE MERCURY NEWS
paper: latest 5 weeks

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Not all periodical publications are created equal. Scholarly publications are peer-reviewed and should be your first choice for accurate and in depth information. The following link will help you select appropriate periodical sources.

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Publications (pdf)