Skip to main content

Citations: Articles (Library Database or Internet)

Articles (from a Library Database or the Internet)

Reference to a Newspaper, Magazine or Journal Article from a Library Database or Online from the Internet:

  • Follow the tips as given above for the hard copy of a journal or magazine article.
  • After the citation you want to add additional information, either the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) number or the URL for the original publication’s homepage. More on this below.


A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string that provides a persistent link to content online. Many publishers and other publishing entities have joined in an organization to create and manage DOIs. Each DOI is unique to that one article. Not all journals and publications have started doing this so you may not see one in the information for an article. Below is an example of a journal article that has a DOI. The DOI is found in the information about the article. If an article has a DOI number you need to use it in your APA citation for articles found online or in library databases.

Article Information from library database:
Elevated levels of kynurenic acid in the cerebrospinal fluid of patients with bipolar disorder.  By: Olsson, Sara K.; Samuelsson, Martin; Saetre, Peter; Lindström, Leif; Jönsson, Erik G.; Nordin, Conny; Engberg, Göran; Erhardt, Sophie; Landén, Mikael. Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, May2010, Vol. 35 Issue 3, p195-199, 5p; DOI: 10.1503/jpn.090180; (AN 50796674)
Database: Academic Search Premier

The DOI for this article is 10.1503/jpn.090180

The proper APA citation for this is:

Olsson, S.K., Samuelsson, M., Saetre, P., Lindstrom, L., Jonsson, E.G., Nordin, C., …Landen, M. (2010). Elevated levels of kynurenic acid in the cerebrospinal fluid  of patients with bipolar disorder. Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, 35(3),195-199. doi: 10.1503/jpn.090180


If the journal article does not include a DOI or you are citing a magazine or newspaper article from an online source or a library database you would have to do a search in a search engine (Google, Bing, Yahoo etc…) for the homepage for that publication.


Article Information from library database:
DOES RELATIONSHIP QUALITY MODERATE THE IMPACT OF MARITAL BEREAVEMENT ON DEPRESSIVE SYMPTOMS?
By: ABAKOUMKIN, GEORGIOS; STROEBE, WOLFGANG; STROEBE, MARGARET. Journal of Social & Clinical Psychology, May2010, Vol. 29 Issue 5, p510-526, 17p, 4 Charts, 2 Graphs; (AN 51459579)

Database: Academic Search Premier

I searched Google for the Journal of Social & Clinical Psychology and the homepage for this journal is: www.guilford.com/pr/jnsc.htm

The proper APA citation for this article is:

Abakoumkin, G., Stroebe, W. & Stroebe, M. (2010). Does relationship quality moderate the impact of marital bereavement on depressive symptoms? Journal of Social & Clinical Psychology, 29(5), 510-526. Retrieved from http://www.guilford.com/pr/jnsc.htm

What is APA Format?

MPC Library APA 6th Edition Handout

APA stands for American Psychological Association.  APA Style is used to write papers and cite sources in the sciences such as nursing, psychology, and social sciences.
The purpose of citing sources is:

  • To avoid plagiarism.
  • To give credit to the original creator of information you used in your research paper.
  • To inform readers of the sources you used.

If you are asked to use APA format, be sure to consult the APA Publication Manual (6th edition), available at the MPC Library.


REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010
(Reference Stacks)

Warning!

Many of the MPC databases provide MLA and APA citation formatting, but they are not always formatted correctly.  Also, other online citation makers are not always accurate. It is important to check their accuracy against a citation style guide like this guide.